Help with Note 9 SM-N960F/DS Root

Hi there. I am having some serious issues. Let me preface this with stating clearly that I am a complete noob when it comes to rooting. This is the first time I’ve ever tried to root.

I have a Exynos Note 9 model SM-N960F/DS. I live in the US. I have a working T-mobile sim (still works in my old phone).

Out of the box I took my old sim and put it in the phone and was able to make and receive calls, text messages, if I walked out of the house for better signal. However, I did not see any settings for Wifi calling (searched the settings area) and confirmed based on my research it would never work stock. Hence my decision to root.

It’s a little hard to retrace my steps but I will try to let you know where I stand now.

I bought the phone on eBay unlocked. In my area the cell signal is terrible and I am dependent on TMO WiFi Calling at home (I can use Skype for outbound but I hardly ever get inbound calls without it).

In order to get Wifi working I found a link for TekHD’s Detonator flash for the Note 9 (specifically to enable features like Wifi calling, etc.) here:

http://tekhd.com/detonator/#readmedetonator

I rooted (so I thought) the phone using this guide (before I found your video) and it seemed like it was sort of working. Root checker (the app) showed that root access was working. I installed the Detonator flash (copied it to the sd card, installed it using TWRP\ making sure to be in read-only mode).

When I booted the phone all seemed ok - I got the T-mobile splash screen, OS loaded, but then I noticed my IMEI information disappeared and therefore my sim was not working. I also noticed that Titanium backup did NOT work and failed to obtain root access.