A cry for help from a numpty with an S7 Galaxy

Hello,

I’m new to HighOnAndroid, new to Android phones in general, and I’m just about tech-savvy enough to be dangerous.

I want to load TWRP, root my phone, and load the Lineage 17.1 (stable) custom Rom on my stock Samsung Galaxy S7 (SM-G930F).

Having spent a few days trawling the web, I stumbled upon Max’s really excellent v-logs, which seemed as if he might have created them with someone like me in mind.

Now to the problem:

Despite evidence to the contrary I am absolutely convinced I have followed Max’s instructions to the letter…

First I did this: How to Install TWRP & Root w/ Magisk on Samsung Android! [UNIVERSAL METHOD] [Android Root 101 #2] | HighOnAndroid.com

Using the links provided I downloaded:

• Odin3_v3.13.1
  • twrp-3.5.2_9-0-herolte.img.tar
  • no-verity-opt-encrypt-6.0.zip
  • Magisk-uninstaller-20180429.zip
  • Magisk-v19.3.zip
  • SAMSUNG_USB_Driver_for_Mobile_Phones.exe

I used Odin to install the TWRP tar ball (The Samsung USB Drivers were not required)
Booted into TWRP on the phone
Attempted a backup to the SD card TWRP reported it could not mount /Data and the back-up failed, so I found a fix on the XDA forum which involved formatting /Data as ext4 and then reformatting it back to its original ext2 which then allowed TWRP to mount /Data and I completed a backup
I copied the other files across on to the phone’s SD card
used TWRP to install no-verity-opt-encrypt-6.0.zip
rebooted into recovery and the “read only” warning screen had disappeared
Performed a full Wipe (Swipe to confirm)
Wiped the Dalvik / ART Cache and the Cache using “Advanced Wipe”
used TWRP to install Magisk-v19.3.zip
rebooted the system and verified the Magist app was on the phone

Obtained LineageOS and GApps from here:

These were the two files downloaded:

• lineage-17.1-20210409-UNOFFICIAL-herolte.zip
  • open_gapps-arm64-10.0-stock-20210428.zip

Copied these files over to the SD Card
Rebooted the phone into TWRP